You are here

Communications Community


Communications Council

This group of senior communications leaders is charged with strengthening awareness for important communications initiatives occurring across Grounds; encouraging advocacy and a sense of community amongst communications leadership at the University; and deepening communication strategy alignment.

Current membership includes the following individuals:

  • Dave Martel, VP for Communications and Chief Marketing Officer, Council Chair
  • Lisa Badeau, Chief Marketing & Communications Officer, UVA Health
  • Karen Barnes, Director of Communications, Human Resources
  • Brooke Braun, Director of Marketing & Communications, McIntire School of Commerce
  • Meg Campbell, Chief of Staff, University Communications
  • Emma Candelier, Director of Communications, School of Data Science
  • John Carfagno, Director of Communications,College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
  • Virginia Carter, Director of Communications, Office of Student Affairs
  • Meredith Cole, Communications Manager, Office of the VP for Research
  • Brian Coy, Assistant VP for Communications and University Spokesperson, University Communications
  • Julie Daum, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, Darden School of Business
  • Brad DeMarea, Creative Director, University Communications
  • Grace Dusseau, Communications Manager, UVA Biocomplexity Institute
  • Richard Gard, Vice President, Communications, Alumni Association
  • Elyse Girard, Executive Director of Communications, UVA Library
  • Carol Keese, Associate VP for Marketing, University Communications
  • Christine Kueter, Senior Writer and Editor, School of Nursing
  • Elizabeth Thiel Mather, Executive Director of Communications, School of Engineering
  • McGregor McCance, Associate VP for Communications & Executive Editor, UVA Today, University Communications
  • Charlotte Morford, Assistant VP for Advancement Communications, University Advancement
  • Sneha Patel, Creative Director, School of Architecture
  • Alex Rebhorn, Communications Director, Office of the EVP & Provost
  • Rob Seal, Director of Marketing and Communications, School of Continuing and Professional Studies
  • Eric Swensen, Public Information Officer, UVA Health
  • Jerilyn Teahan, Executive Director of Operations Communications, Office of the EVP & COO
  • Erin Durney Tör, Director of Communications, Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy
  • Matt Weber, Senior Advisor to the President and Chief Creative Officer, Office of the President
  • Catherine Allen-West, Director of Communications, Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Brittney Whiteside, Deputy Athletics Director, External Operations, Athletics
  • Howard Witt, Director of Communications, Miller Center
  • Mary Wood, Chief Communications Officer, School of Law

UVA Brand Forum

A broad communicators forum, open to all UVA communications professionals, meets annually for programming and to discuss topics that are widely applicable to all. Join the communications forum now.